Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Loking for comparo / opinion on SIG 1911 vs. Dan Wesson

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 11:08 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Loking for comparo / opinion on SIG 1911 vs. Dan Wesson

I've been shopping around for a 1911 to add to my little collection.
I had a semi-custom 1911 10 years ago built by an ex-Wilson Combat gunsmith in his spare time. I sold it 3 years ago when I wasn't shooting as much and regretted letting it go ever since.

Now I find the landscape of the 1911 world a little changed upon my return. The guns that pique my interest right now, are the Dan Wesson (which everybody seems to rave about in terms of quality and tightness) ad the various SIG 1911s (my P-220 has been my favorite side arm for 25 years and I have always liked and trusted SIG quality).

When it comes to 1911s, I gladly defer to those more knowledgable than myself.
So: in the $900-$1400 bracket, what has been your experience with either or both of these brands of 1911s? Likes/dislikes? Surprises good or bad?

Normally I'd find a good Dan Wesson and be done with it. But I'm in California and some of these guns are not easy to come by. At the same time, one f my local dealers has a SIG 1911 Tactical R at a reasonable price.
So my basic choice is: source a Dan Wesson online and go through the FFL transfer hassle, or get the SIG locally?

All opinions/comments/feedback are welcome.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-08-2011, 11:19 PM   #2
Retired

Liked 2267 Times on 1356 Posts
Likes Given: 1058