Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Just wondering...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2008, 01:00 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Just wondering...

So is a RIA 1911 the most inexpensive 1911 that you guys would recommend?

I plan on using the gun for the most part to learn more about it in a more hands-on kind of way as opposed to reading about it and looking at pictures (This would be my first handgun). Taking it to the range, duh. And later on down the road quite possibly use it as a CCW. I do realize that there isn't a 'cure-all' 1911 but I'd like to know what could possibly fit the bill. Oh and I'm a dirt poor college student so...yeah...

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-15-2008, 02:02 AM   #2

Liked 9 Times on 3 Posts

Well, I don't have one, but I handled one at the last gun show in my area. They look good, but they don't feel the same as an original 1911. I think the grips are too short and I feel a lump under my second finger when I gripped the gun. I tried more than one RIA and they all felt like that. I didn't feel anything like that when I held the original Colt WWI issue or the WWII Remington. In fact the "real" 1911s felt good. If you can find a WWII rebuild and maybe take it to a smith to "tweak" it, that might be better than a clone even though it would cost more.

9x18=Makarov

Old 07-15-2008, 03:31 AM   #3
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts