Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   I'm Feeling The Need for a 1911 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/im-feeling-need-1911-a-23641/)

mrm14 02-20-2010 11:07 PM

I'm Feeling The Need for a 1911

O.K. I've been milling over getting a 1911 for about 2 years now. It didn't happen last year due to the build of my target rifle. It didn't happen the year before due to a spendy trap and skeet O/U shotgun I absolutely had to have.

This year, after April, by god, I got to get a 1911.

I've narrowed down my choices for a 1911 to the Kimber Gold Match Stainless in .45 ACP and the Springfield Trophy Match Stainless in .45 ACP.

For those of you on this forum who know both of these 1911 brand pistols well, and I know theres more than a couple of you, I would like to know the comparative pro's and con's of each of these 1911 pistol brands if any.

I have .41 mag. and .44 mag revolvers and thats all I've shot most of my life when it comes to pistols. Except for back in the 1970's when my brother had a Colt 1911. At that time I couldnt hit the broad side of a 20 foot barn door at 5 feet with any kind of pistol. Since then I've become a tad more than fairly proficient with the revolvers.

Anyhow, I would like comparative info from those in the know of the Kimber and Springfield 1911's because I cant decide between the two yet and it's driving me nuts.

NGIB 02-20-2010 11:29 PM

I have a 1st generation Kimber Gold Match (circa 97) and a Springer Legend TGO. Both are fine guns and will do what they're supposed to do. You're comparing very similar products so about all that we can offer are opinions.

Personally, I favor Springer over Kimber - all else being equal. No real reason but as I said, it's opinion...

canebrake 02-21-2010 02:07 PM

Colt Gold Cup National Match

Hard to beat at ~ $900!

Ozark Guns, Colt Gold Cup National Match