Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   How to properly store my new 1911 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/how-properly-store-my-new-1911-a-18176/)

feedsasquatch 09-17-2009 01:57 PM

How to properly store my new 1911

This has come up in a couple of other threads, so I thought I'd make a new one, instead of threadjacking other people's threads.

Here's my question. How do I properly store my guns? I have a Colt Combat Commander, Glock 23, and S&W 642. Normally I just leave them in sitting on top of 1/2" of foam, either in their respective boxes, or in a "safe" place. My Glock's been fine with this for 1/2 a year, but now that I have a nice Colt, I got to thinking about whether or not foam was the best thing for my guns to be sitting on all day...

What should I be doing to avoid rust over the long-term? Is it ok if I leave one or more of my guns in a leather holster at all times?

Thanks!

General_lee 09-17-2009 03:09 PM

I have heard that the foam padding in the carry cases will pull the oil away from the metal. I'm sure someone will come by and give better advice than I can.
My best advice to you is to keep an eye on it and oil it down regularly.

ktmboyz 09-18-2009 01:23 AM

I keep mine in pistol racks on the shelf in my safe. I usually wipe them with an oil wipe when I put the min there and it always has a dehumidifier in it.

CA357 09-18-2009 03:43 AM

You should store them at my house and avoid all the hassle.

If you aren't going for that, silicone gun socks work well. :cool:

canebrake 09-18-2009 04:04 AM

Get a gun rug for frequent use:

Bulldog Pistol Gun Case Nylon - MidwayUSA

For longer storage get a Bore Store:

Bore-Store Pistol Gun Case Revolver with 4" Barrel, Large Auto with 5" Barrel Double Sided Cloth Gray - MidwayUSA

And always have a couple of these Silicone Gun Cleaning Cloths: