Hi, I'm new here
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Hi, I'm new here

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2011, 05:51 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Hi, I'm new here

Hey all,
I am a car/ gun nut that has a background in fabrication with a wide variety of materials and processes. I have been designing and making custom car parts for 10 years now. Recently I joined the 1911 club and after a long time searching for the right one found a Kimber SIS pro that fit the bill. Being the kind of person that never leaves well enough alone I started by making a set of custom laminated grips with digicam fabric for my SIS. Next I made a custom formed leather IWB carry holster for it. I didnt really like how the holster turned out, and while looking for new inspiration I came across the CLIP DRAW and decided to improve on that design.
I chose to use pre-preg carbon fiber to make my belt clip for several reasons. It is very lightweight, strong, and has an excellent spring like property to it. Unlike traditional wet lamination pre-preg has the resin already infused in with the carbon fiber, and the ultra high strength epoxy resin is activated by heat and not by introducing a chemical hardener. I designed it to have two carry positions depending on what I'm wearing and how I want the sidearm to sit, It turned out pretty well and I have been carrying with it for a few weeks now. I think that it is especially beneficial for smaller guys like me who have a hard time concealing pistols and every bit of slimness helps. Enough talk here are some pictures.

High carry

Low carry

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.