Help me decide - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Help me decide

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-05-2010, 08:02 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALSGUN View Post
OK, When I first started shooting I had a 1911, don't remember exactly what, anyway I wanted another one so a few years ago I purchased a new SS colt, I still have not fired it, I am thinking of sending out for the proper adjustments, bushing, etc. Should I or should I just keep in the box for the grandkids, I also have an unfired 2 series sa army, which will definitely stay that way. Second question if I make a shooter out of this what exactly should be done to it...I await the answers from the experts. thanks guys

I don't think I could go a week without trying out a new gun.

Put some lead down range and see how it performs before doing ANYTHING!

I'm no expert, but a better trigger and more precision parts and sights helps improve accuracy greatly. What helps even more than that is TRIGGER TIME!! Shoot the thing or send it to me for evaluation.

Old 05-05-2010, 02:09 PM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by canebrake View Post
I am 63 years old and can tell you the serial number on my first gun I purchased.
[INDENTAll you need here is a thick skin and the ability to laugh at anything, including yourself!"[/B][/COLOR][/I][/INDENT]
My hand was never retracted, we don't need to start over, just ask questions with substance. I would be glad to share my knowledge of Stainless Steel Colts with you.

I'm a retired engineer. That's why I get headaches when I need to do more than what's efficient, or erroneous.