Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Help "Convert" me to a 1911 please... (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/help-convert-me-1911-please-15884/)

feedsasquatch 07-19-2009 01:40 AM

Help "Convert" me to a 1911 please...

Ok, so I just started shooting guns again for the first time in 6 years (I just graduated from college and didn't have time for it). I have little experience shooting pistols, except for the 300 rounds I've put through my new Glock 23 over the last 2 months. I'm getting my concealed carry license this week, and due to many of this forums post, and my own research, I've decided that I want to carry the .45 ACP, and not the .40 S&W. So, since I've decided the .45 ACP is the best caliber, I'm trying to decide which gun is the best platform for that caliber...

- I've considered getting a Glock 36 because I'm already familiar with Glock, and can get one for $600 new. I've shot the G30, and can control it better than my G23. However, I've heard from more than 10 reliable people that use Glocks that the G36 WILL jam if fired one-handed and "limp-wristed." I don't know if in a self-defense situation I'll always be able to have a death grip on my gun... will a 1911 due the same?

- I've considered the Springfield XD. Similar to Glock, just as reliable, costs about the same, but a little more bulky, which is the main deterrent, as I'm 6'2" and 130 lbs (it's genetic).