Firearm in the trunk?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Firearm in the trunk?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 06:33 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Firearm in the trunk?

So a LEO has informed me that I am able to keep a handgun unlocked and at reach in my trunk as long as I keep the loade magazines separately in the glovebox. Is this true? Something just doesn't sound legal here. He was LAPD

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-14-2011, 06:40 AM   #2

Liked 27 Times on 17 Posts

As an emt I'm not sure what the laws are if you have special privileges.. in nys on long island if your a cop u can carry concealed everywhere. Everyone with a pistol permit here is for target and game only so it can't be on your hip unless you are traveling to and from the range and making no other stops in between.. This is in case you get your car stolen then the gun in now out of your hands and into those of someone who could be dangerous... When u r transporting a gun to lets say upstate the the gun and ammo must be separated by the truck and inside the car.. If you have a connected truck to the inside the car either the ammo or the gun has to be lock but a lockable glove compartment is not go enough... I'd say go to you local police department and if they say u can just get a letter incase one cop doesn't know the laws or just wants to bust your balls...

Old 11-14-2011, 07:20 AM   #3
Ain't she sweet?
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 7022 Times on 4225 Posts
Likes Given: 8461