Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Firearm in the trunk? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/firearm-trunk-51769/)

EMTchad 11-14-2011 06:33 AM

Firearm in the trunk?

So a LEO has informed me that I am able to keep a handgun unlocked and at reach in my trunk as long as I keep the loade magazines separately in the glovebox. Is this true? Something just doesn't sound legal here. He was LAPD

hockeyjr1 11-14-2011 06:40 AM

As an emt I'm not sure what the laws are if you have special privileges.. in nys on long island if your a cop u can carry concealed everywhere. Everyone with a pistol permit here is for target and game only so it can't be on your hip unless you are traveling to and from the range and making no other stops in between.. This is in case you get your car stolen then the gun in now out of your hands and into those of someone who could be dangerous... When u r transporting a gun to lets say upstate the the gun and ammo must be separated by the truck and inside the car.. If you have a connected truck to the inside the car either the ammo or the gun has to be lock but a lockable glove compartment is not go enough... I'd say go to you local police department and if they say u can just get a letter incase one cop doesn't know the laws or just wants to bust your balls...

winds-of-change 11-14-2011 07:20 AM

Well, I live in Illinois and the only time you can be transporting a firearm is to and from a range or to and from hunting. Even then, the weapon must be unloaded and in the trunk of the car. If you don't have a trunk, as in a minivan or SUV, the firearm must be unloaded and in a locked gun case.

Axxe55 11-14-2011 08:06 AM