Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Desert Eagle 1911G (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/desert-eagle-1911g-103595/)

texastom101 02-03-2014 09:03 AM

Desert Eagle 1911G

First off I admit that I am new here and have 0% credibility on this forum. I am not a professional gun writer or technologically proficient which is why I depend on a 100+ year old design(more on that in a second). I speak only from my own experience and knowledge gained from the ones who came before me.
About a year and a half ago I picked up the desert eagle 1911g on a whim just to torture, and today I passed the 40,000 round mark. I have replaced the springs three times and will do so again next month. I have found that my particular pistol prefers chip magazines and 230gr ammunition. In all of the rounds I have fired I have only had 5 failure to fires(bad reloads), and two failure to return to battery(weak springs I think). Accuracy has been in the 2.5-5 inch range at 25 meters with most loads. Fit is pretty close to my Wilson combat race gun, but the finish is showing signs of fatigue. The trigger has 1/16in take up and breaks like glass at 3.24 lbs on average with a positive reset.
All in all not a bad first 1911 or truck gun by any means. On a side note mine will not lock the slide back with 47d magazines, so make sure your magazines function before carry. And as far as the 100 year comment, guns were metal, cars were American and as a society we wouldn't hesitate to kick the dog turds out of anyone that threatened our families. Maybe I'm just old fashioned.

texastom101 02-03-2014 09:20 AM