DE1911G Questions
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > DE1911G Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2011, 12:25 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 991 Times on 499 Posts
Likes Given: 2547

Default DE1911G Questions

My latest purchase is the DE1911G from Magnum Research

Unfortunately - it does not come with a rail, and since this is my first 1911, im still very new to the world of 1911 customization.

I've looked around with google searches to see if there's a way to add one on, or if it has to come from the manufacturer, but can't find anything what so ever. So does anyone know if this can be done, and if so, do you know of a reliable source to buy the railing?

Secondly, this one is more of a request for your personal opinions... I do like the grips that came with this gun, but i'm thinking of buying something different, just to give it its own personality...

What do you guys (and gals?) think would look best? Im thinking some sort of ivory with some nice etchings, but im told Ivory grips are sort of cliche anymore...any opinions would be most appreciated

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-16-2011, 12:35 PM   #2

Liked 22 Times on 7 Posts

Since this is your first, I'll give the same old tired advice I always do:

Put lots of rounds through it and learn the platform before you customize anything. Not having a rail is not a bad thing to most of us 1911 fans BTW. Grips are very much a matter of personal choice, for shooting I really like Pachmayr wrap-arounds - not pretty but really effective & comfortable.