Building a 1911? Feasible? Economical?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Building a 1911? Feasible? Economical?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2008, 04:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Building a 1911? Feasible? Economical?

I'm 19 and i was thinking about slowly building (really slowly I'm a college student so money doesn't exactly grow on trees)one until i'm 21 and getting the receiver when I'm of age.
first of all is this:
1. Feasible? (legally and practically)
2. Economical? (cheaper to build one then to buy one?)

thoughts?

"If guns cause crime then all of mine are defective." -Ted Nugent

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-16-2008, 07:10 PM   #2

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3478 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590

Well, building a 1911 is a big step from building an AR, that is for sure. It can be done, and it can probably be done cheaper than buying one.

That said, I just think the market is such, right now, that the really good guns are coming with parts that are top notch ( tuned triggers, match grade barrels, along with polished feed ramps, grip safeties and high end mags ), for not much more than you are going to spend for pieces to achieve the same weapon.

Fit and finish are important a good quality 1911 IMHO. If you can get a matching frame and slide, maybe you could pull off a good budget build.

I would vote probably not on economical. Feasible would be absolutely.

JD

Old 09-16-2008, 08:45 PM   #3