To build or not to build?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > To build or not to build?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-09-2012, 05:25 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default To build or not to build?

O.K. guys I'm getting that itch. I'm a retired/disabled police officer and love to target shoot. I know that after all of my years of shooting, any of my pistols can out shoot me in someone elses hands. I have my CCW and home/auto defense covered and now want something budget friendly for the range. I am definitely going the 1911 .45 ACP route and need some opinions (good or bad). I am very familiar with the nomenclature of the 1911 and what helps builds accuracy. What I am not sure of is if I can build a 1911 mid size 25 yard target pistol for under $1000.00 and be able to tell that it is a far better shooter than my stock pistols. It don't have to start out pretty. When I was welding as a side business to police work, my theory was "Make it work now and make it sexy later". I have the time and I have the skill. What I don't have is the experience of attempting this before. So with that said, am I crazy to want to try this as a temporary hobby (albeit a serious hobby) or would the payoff not be worth the effort? I don't want to just sit down and throw parts together and voila, pistol. I want to spend the time in front of the T.V. shaping parts and building up to that final WOW factor. Sorry so long winded but I wanted you guys to know as much about what I want to attempt as possible. Thanks ahead of time for the advice, criticism, ridicule and laughs. I'm tough. I can take it.
Michael

Last edited by mwblackmon; 12-09-2012 at 05:29 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.