Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Any Smith & Wesson 1911 User Out There? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/any-smith-wesson-1911-user-out-there-70131/)

JeffG 08-12-2012 01:15 AM

Any Smith & Wesson 1911 User Out There?

Hey everyone! I want to purchase a 1911 .45 ACP (my first 1911) to use for carry purposes. I have not shot any 1911's honestly and need opinions. I searched a few pages here but didn't get what I was looking for.

I live in Massachusetts and we are VERY LIMITED on choices! Many 1911's I would like to consider are on an approved rosters list BUT NOT ON THE ATTORNEY GENREAL'S LIST. You can't find the AG's list so it makes it even harder!

So, I am down to Sig and Smith and Wesson for new 1911's. I own a few M&P's and love them. I have no experience with Smith & Wesson's 1911 line or SIG's. I have $1200.00 to spend on the gun itself. Mods would come at a later date.

I currently carry a Smith & Wesson M&P 40 (full size) and it is a great gun! Smith & Wesson makes quite a few 1911's but I don't know anyone who owns one. I am looking at the smaller version of the 1911 for concealed carry and I am looking for your opinion if you can help me.

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!!!
Jeff

Dillinger 08-12-2012 01:55 AM

Well, I don't have any experience with a carry model, but I have shot a full sized Smith (adjustable sights, steel frame, had an ambi safety, I think it was called a SW1911) and it was a good shooting weapon. The lock up was good, the trigger was about what you should expert in a "production" piece. It was a good gun. Nothing that I would have sold a kidney over or had to have immediately, but it was good.

I also shot a Sig Nitron when it first came out. Now, caveat: It has an external extractor which a lot of traditionalists hate. I don't have a problem with it, but keep that in mind. ;)