Advice on First 1911: Colt Combat Elite.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Advice on First 1911: Colt Combat Elite.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-12-2014, 08:09 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Advice on First 1911: Colt Combat Elite. UPDATE: SA Trophy Match?

I am relatively new to the use of firearms-about three months. I am on the quest for a 1911. I am not looking for a bargain-I want a gun that is very well made, has current safety features and will stand the test of time. It will be used for target shooting and home defense. It will not be a carry weapon.

In doing my research, I came upon the Colt Combat Elite. Obviously, the reputation of Colt speaks for itself. It has, I believe the features I want, and it is absolutely gorgeous!

Are there any issues with this firearm that I may not be aware of? Am I silly for spending this amount of money on a stock 1911? I did try a Ruger SR1911, and it felt very comfortable; a good fit for my medium to large hands (I'm 6'). The trigger, however, was too quick; I was firing shots too quickly. That was startling. I imagine I could adapt, but I rather have a gun with a beefier trigger pull. I also tried a Springfield RO. The trigger pull was fine on that one. It's just not as appealing to me as the Colt Combat Elite.

Thoughts?

Thank you.

Update-Thoughts on the Springfield Armory Trophy Match?

My Collection:
Colt Gold Cup Nat'l Match
CZ 75BD Police
Berretta 92FS Inox
H&K P30
M&P Shield
PX4 Storm
S&W 686 Plus

Last edited by dkleiner; 05-13-2014 at 02:31 PM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.