1911's so many choices
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > 1911's so many choices

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2012, 01:49 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default 1911's so many choices

I'm looking to buy a model 1911. I have been researching them for 2 months and the only thing that I seem to be figuring out is that the longer I research the more I get frustrated. There are so many choices I can't make up my mind as to which I should get. So I am asking for any info on which brand , type I should buy?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-16-2012, 03:58 PM   #2

Liked 409 Times on 266 Posts
Likes Given: 4

I feel ya, JD. The 100th anniversary of the 1911 had everybody and their brother making them. I guess the first question I'd ask is how much do you want to spend? They range from $400 to $1500, more if you want a really tricked out piece. My first 1911 was a Springfield Armory. That's where I'd start if I were you.

Old 04-16-2012, 04:02 PM   #3

Liked 360 Times on 224 Posts
Likes Given: 167

I don't know what your budget is but Sig, Colt, Springfield 1911 are great choices. You could do higher end like Les Bear but those will run you 2K for a NIB or a decent starter would be a RIA in the 400 range.

"Regardless of whether justified of not, you will feel sad about killing another human being. It is better to be sad than to be room temperature." - Joe B Fricks.

Member:
01 FFL, GOFFA, NRA, GOA, IAVA, VFW, ABATE of Iowa D15.

Old 04-16-2012, 04:23 PM   #4

Liked 68 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 113