Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   1911's so many choices (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/1911s-so-many-choices-62610/)

JerseyDad 04-16-2012 12:49 AM

1911's so many choices

I'm looking to buy a model 1911. I have been researching them for 2 months and the only thing that I seem to be figuring out is that the longer I research the more I get frustrated. There are so many choices I can't make up my mind as to which I should get. So I am asking for any info on which brand , type I should buy?

Donn 04-16-2012 02:58 PM

I feel ya, JD. The 100th anniversary of the 1911 had everybody and their brother making them. I guess the first question I'd ask is how much do you want to spend? They range from $400 to $1500, more if you want a really tricked out piece. My first 1911 was a Springfield Armory. That's where I'd start if I were you.

silverado113 04-16-2012 03:02 PM

I don't know what your budget is but Sig, Colt, Springfield 1911 are great choices. You could do higher end like Les Bear but those will run you 2K for a NIB or a decent starter would be a RIA in the 400 range.

Polygon 04-16-2012 03:23 PM

If you're on a budget and want to get into 1911s then I suggest looking into the Ruger SR1911. They're not very expensive and they're a good entry level gun. I would buy one long before something like a Taurus, Hi Point, or Rock Island. If you can spend a little more than that I would suggest a Springfield. And if you can go even more than that I would suggest getting a Colt.

That still leaves you with a lot of options as Springfield and Colt have many different 1911s to choose from. I would just research them and see which one fits you budget and intended use the best. If you can, get to your local gun shops and check them out in person.

levelcross 04-16-2012 03:30 PM

Quote: