Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Glock Forum > Tough to fill new magazine to top--Problem?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 06:38 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 190 Times on 129 Posts
Likes Given: 89

Default Tough to fill new magazine to top--Problem?

I've got my new Glock 19. Love it. 100 rounds through it, which makes only 125 rounds I've ever fired. I'm a newbie and I 'd like any help offered.

My mag holds 15 rounds. I can definitely get those 15 rounds into the mag, but the last 1 or 2 are awfully tough to pack. Will this become easier over time? Does it cause any problems getting that first round to chamber?

BTW, just got my Insight M3X tactical light in the mail today...fun! My GunVault 1000-DLX should be coming soon. Then I'll feel a bit more comfortable leaving one in the pipe right next to my bed.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-27-2009, 06:48 PM   #2

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

If it gets much easier over time it means your spring is taking a "set", and that's not necessarily a good thing. If it becomes too weak, the last rounds may not feed properly. There are two schools of thought on leaving mags loaded, and the devisiveness is almost as strong as the AR vs. AK debate...I am of the opinion that leaving a spring compressed increases the likelihood that it will fail eventually. But, to each his own...

Pain is Weakness Leaving the Body - USMC
"Qui desiderat pacem, praeparet bellum"

Old 06-27-2009, 06:59 PM   #3

Default Mags shouldn't be always loaded? Huh?