Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Glock Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   Rookie needs some advice (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/rookie-needs-some-advice-4505/)

juicetree 05-19-2008 02:57 AM

Rookie needs some advice

I just purchased a used Glock 17. I paid $500 for the pistol,holster,2 17 round magazines, 1 30 round magazine, 1 Glock knife, and 50 rounds. I am thinking that it is a Gen 1. It has no mounting rails and no finger grips. I was wondering if I paid too much for it? I was told that I should have only given the guy $350 for it. Like I said I am a rookie at the gun purchasing thing.

yankee2500 05-19-2008 04:09 PM

Well you may have paid a little too much, the 30rd. mag, knife and 50rds. would have set you back $50 to $60, can't price the holster not knowing what brand or model it is. You can call Glock and they will be able to tell you when the pistol was made by the ser.#. The bottom line is if you are happy with what you got for the price don't dwell on it. Next time do your homework and know how much it's worth before you buy. We have all had hindsight issues it one time or another. John

juicetree 05-21-2008 01:23 AM

Shot it

Yeah just went out and shot my Glock today put about 100 rounds through it. I actually shot a really good pattern with it. Love the smooth trigger on it. Can't really complain about it. I only have two things about it. I have to aim low on my target. Two when I cock the slide back it looks as if the barrel and the spring rod are bent upward. I don't know if this is normal or not but I had no problem shooting it.

cpttango30 05-21-2008 02:16 PM

Yes th barrel is normal. The barrel has to drop down out of battery to allow the slide to move towards the rear. It looks really goofy I know.