Questions about various 9mm Luger ammo
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Glock Forum > Questions about various 9mm Luger ammo

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2009, 03:24 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Questions about various 9mm Luger ammo

Hi all, I recently bought a Glock 17, and have so far only shot the 115 grain roundnose type of bullets you find at Walmart.

I'm still learning, so please bear with my simple questions!

Can I safely shoot +p ammo in my all-stock G17? And what exactly does the +p designation mean? From what I've gleaned off the boards, it's a hotter load that results in increased muzzle velocity. Is that correct?

Also, what are the advantages of the different bullet weights? For example, I want to order some hollow points from Midway, but they're all sold out of 115 grain ammo, so I'm thinking of buying 125 grain. What are the pros and cons of that, and is it even worth worrying about?

Thanks for your help.

"If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude than the animated contest of freedom, go from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains sit lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen!”

Last edited by BPond; 01-03-2009 at 03:26 PM. Reason: typo

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 04-14-2009, 03:36 AM   #2

I've have a lot of the same questions. I can only add that there is a limit to how heavy of a round you can safely fire, and this information is found in your manual.