Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Glock Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   New Glock owner needs help (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/new-glock-owner-needs-help-3599/)

saxmanchop 03-06-2008 06:05 AM

New Glock owner needs help

Hi All,
Just bought my first Glock, a G17, and fired it tonight. After firing my second mag., I noticed that the front of the frame looked funny. After closer inspection, I noticed that the front of the frame was curved slightly upward. I could actually see through the space between the slide and frame. It wasn't like this before I started shooting. What happened? Is this what they mean by "Glock flexibility." I disassembled the gun when I got home and verified that I wasn't imagining things at the range. Is this normal or should I take it back and have the store take a look at it? Thanks in advance for your help.

Sincerely
saxmanchop

stogie25 03-06-2008 11:09 AM

I have a Glock 21. I have had it for years, and shot it a lot. It still has a perfect fit. I would take yours back if it doesn't.

Samhain 03-06-2008 12:41 PM

That does not sound right at all, bring it back.
Try calling Glock and see what they say.

GLOCK, Inc.
6000 Highlands Parkway
Smyrna, GA 30082
U.S.A.
Tel.: +1 770 - 432 1202
Fax: +1 770 - 433 8719

allmons 03-06-2008 05:04 PM

I have a Model 17 circa 1985 -

and it does NOT look like what you describe.

My first thought is unload it and have it checked before firing again. It might be some normal variation ( I haven't seen what the new Glocks look like up close ), but if you have any doubts, do not fire the weapon.

:)

Doug1627 03-06-2008 06:38 PM

Do you have any pics?

If I am understanding correctly this is normal.

Doug1627 03-06-2008 06:53 PM

Taken from an article on Glock's.

Does this help you at all?