Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Glock Forum > Glock pistols, ticking timebombs?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2010, 12:20 AM   #71
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by 240sxs13sleeper View Post
hi. im a newbie and im looking to get a handgun. ive shot my friends .45 glock and i love the kick it delivers. im doing my homework on a couple of glock related forums and got a question to this post above. what does he mean by "I shoot weekly with a range of ammo (no reloads) without any issues."

i dont get the no reloads part

-thao
Hey, Sleeper! Take off your shoes, get comfortable, and swing by the introductions section to say hi!

By "reloads" he means hand-loaded ammo. A lot of shooters will purchase bullets and powder, reuse casings, and make their own cartridges. Often, handloads can be "hotter" than factory-loaded ammunition, operating at a higher pressure, which can damage guns not designed for that amount of stress.
Ruger Mk III Competition .22 LR, S&W M&P Pro Series 9mm

Old 02-21-2010, 04:06 AM   #72

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Bluesky View Post
Hey, Sleeper! Take off your shoes, get comfortable, and swing by the introductions section to say hi!

By "reloads" he means hand-loaded ammo. A lot of shooters will purchase bullets and powder, reuse casings, and make their own cartridges. Often, handloads can be "hotter" than factory-loaded ammunition, operating at a higher pressure, which can damage guns not designed for that amount of stress.
oh ok .. thanks. what i thought when i first read that was. taking the bullet in and out of the magazine, reloading and loading the same bullets in the magazine which makes it bad to shoot. but i understand now. and thx for the quick reply . you guys are quick and helpful thx. i will go into the introduction asap

Old 02-21-2010, 04:28 AM   #73

Liked 224 Times on 156 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Sleeper,