Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Glock Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   Glock Armorers Course Thoughts (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/glock-armorers-course-thoughts-55596/)

jrags 01-16-2012 03:57 PM

Glock Armorers Course Thoughts

I'm eligible to take the Glock Armorer's course. Is anyone here a certified Glock Armorer? Is it useful to take? It would be for my own personal benefit. I'm not an armorer for my department or agency. I've had no experience with breaking down handguns further than the standard "field strip."

Standard pricing is $195. Am I way in over my head?

What are the benefits of taking the class other than more in-depth knowledge about Glock pistols and detailed stripping/reassembly?

Do they require re-training every so often?

Do they give you training materials at the course?

http://www.glocktraining.com/files/AC_Course.pdf

PrimePorkchop 01-16-2012 04:20 PM

I have not taken the class, but my best friend has, and based on what he's told me, I would recommend taking it. When you're a certified Glock armorer, you can do Warranty repairs, plus you get to use a cool title "Certified Glock Armorer" which sets you apart from Joe Schmoe working out of his garage =)

But thats just hearsay from him.

RogerH 01-16-2012 08:02 PM

any time you can get more education you should do it.

MrWray 01-16-2012 08:34 PM

When i worked at the sheriff department i had alot more training then alot of the deputies that were there before me. Some just took the manditory classes that it took to keep their CLEET certifications up, i constantly checked in and signed up for every class i could. Even if i had taken the course or school before i would take it again whenever it came back around

trip286 01-16-2012 08:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RogerH (Post 678975)
any time you can get more education you should do it.