Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Glock Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   Glock 30SF Cleaning Question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/glock-30sf-cleaning-question-4206/)

Dan64456 04-23-2008 03:45 PM

Glock 30SF Cleaning Question

Ok, so I've done a fair amount of research and watching of videos of glock cleaning... I hear a lot of bad press about allowing lube or solvent leak into the firing pin channel... Now I am nervous about cleaning that area of my gun. I am completely new to this and this is my first firearm, so I just want to make sure I am doing it all correctly. I'm assuming the "breech face" is simply the wall of the slide where the firing pin pokes thru? If that is correct, would it be safe to use a toothbrush with a bit of solvent on that area to clean it? (While pointing it to the ground, then of course drying it thoroughly?) Also am I supposed to "retract" the firing pin before cleaning that area? Or do I leave it in its "struck" position to keep the hole better sealed? If someone can go into more detail for what is safe and what I should not do I'd greatly appreciate it. The manual that came with it doesn't go into very much detail at all and I'd like some info on how to safely clean that rear area of the slide.

Dan64456 04-25-2008 01:23 AM

Anyone?????????

chorst294 04-25-2008 04:04 AM