Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Glock Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/)
-   -   Cleaning problem/question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f56/cleaning-problem-question-44958/)

theargonaut 07-09-2011 03:32 PM

Cleaning problem/question

Hi folks. So I was cleaning my Glock this morning and no matter how many times I run my patch through (with Hoppe's) I'm still getting black residue. Now, I am pretty sure that I only cleaned it with dry patches two weekends ago as an oversight (yes I'm a newb) so this is the first time in 2 weeks it has really been cleaned with Hoppe's. I shot 100 rounds through it 2 weeks ago and then 150 last night. Every time after I put the bronze bristle brush through then run a Hoppe's patch through it, it's still coming out with black. I did this for about 40 minutes switching back and forth between the wet Hoppe's patch and the bronze brush. Am I ruining the barrel? Should I still be getting black **** on the patch? Not sure if I should keep proceeding until the patches are clean. Thanks.

Firearms4ever 07-09-2011 03:38 PM

There's your problem, because you cleaned it with only dry patches the powder residue had time to settle and harden in the barrel. You' going to want to soak it really good with the Hoppe's you have let it sit for a while, and then run patches and brushes through it. I also recommend you try either Remington Cleaning oil/lubricant, and or Ballistol cleaning oil/lubricant. I never did like Hoppe's very much.

canebrake 07-09-2011 03:43 PM

Try using a nylon brush, not the bronze.

I think your solvent is reacting with your bronze brush.

PanBaccha 07-09-2011 03:43 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Firearms4ever (Post 537708)