Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Glock Forum > alaska

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2012, 02:42 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default alaska

Hey guys I'm new to this hole internet thread thing. I'm moveing to alaska this month and I'm planning on buying a glock 29 for bear and all other self defense means as I will be carrying it mainly. So my question is: what is the best ammunition I can buy for bear and what is the most secure site to buy from at a good price.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-09-2012, 02:55 PM   #2

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

I like Speer gold dot or hornady critical defense. And remember rule # 2 double tap. And if it's a big bear repeat step 2 as needed.

Old 05-09-2012, 02:58 PM   #3
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 2917 Times on 1718 Posts

Personally I would dump the entire clip into the charging bear and then change my pants.

I don't need No stinking signature.

Old 05-09-2012, 03:07 PM   #4

Liked 157 Times on 108 Posts
Likes Given: 119

As much as I like the Glock pistol, if you are moving to Alaska and plan on purchasing a handgun for the sole purpose of Alaska bear protection, there are far better choices in handguns than the Glock. I would suggest at the very least a Ruger Super Redhawk Alaskan in .44 Magum or better .454 Casull. It has been proven in many encounters with bears that they can absorb a tremendous amount of punishment, especially when hungry and pi$$ed off, and feel their space has been intruded upon.