.40 vs .45 - Page 4
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > Glock Forum >

.40 vs .45

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 05:10 AM   #31
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1652 Times on 1086 Posts
Likes Given: 1653

Quote:
Originally Posted by JOwens View Post
... IMHO, the .40 offers both power and round capacity. Something that neither the 9mm or the .45 ACP can do both of that well.
I have to agree. Sure the 9mm is easy to shoot and the 45ACP is more of a shove than the sharper kick of the 40S&W but with practice it's not that big a deal.

I'm new to the caliber and to the Glock but my G22 tames the 40S&W pretty well and holds 16 rounds which is hard to beat. I'm now a fan.
US Army 1966-69, VFW Life Member, Retired Geek

Old 05-24-2011, 04:42 PM   #32

Liked 3419 Times on 1934 Posts
Likes Given: 2405

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quentin View Post
I don't see a problem, it's not like the earlier info is that dated. Heck a 40 S&W vs. 45 ACP argument can go on for four years anyway. Just like 40 S&W vs. 9mm!

Now necroposting in an obsolete thread or a which gun should I buy thread, yeah I can see a problem. But not the case here.
Too right, Quentin.

Telling somebody what kind of gun to buy is like telling somebody what kind of

food to eat.

IMO, it depends on whether you desire specific advantages, or
a compromise.

The .45 gives knock down power advantage.
The 9mm gives penetration and extra shot advantage.
The 40S&W is a compromise between the two.

Old 05-24-2011, 04:49 PM   #33

Liked 1463 Times on 819 Posts
Likes Given: 1290

For me it comes down to fun.

I can shoot a .45ACP or a 9MM all day and enjoy every minute of the experience.

After two or three mags of .40S&W I'm ready for happy hour!

I never get good with things I don't enjoy.

http://i1060.photobucket.com/albums/...ps18cfbeae.jpg