Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Where is the best place for a woman to conceal?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-22-2013, 07:34 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 3702 Times on 1825 Posts
Likes Given: 1005

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitkat89 View Post
I actually do live in an open carry state (michigan) but for me being a young lady and not very big, I feel showing that I have a gun would make me more of a target than a threat to the criminal. How easy would it be for the criminal to over power me before I even realize he is a threat. I am referring to a robbery in this situation.
KITKAT

I agree that open carry makes you a target. Personally, I've been carrying a concealed gun daily for 17 years. Huge guns and tiny guns, major calibers and minor calibers, and done so in every possible location on the body.

What I've discovered "as far as location" on the body is that I prefer the hip at the 3 O'clock or 4 O'clock position because "if attacked", even a smaller victim can step back with there "stong side" leg, and as long as there "strong arm" is free... draw and fire while using there weak hand to ward of the threat.

Self defense with a gun will never be a game of taking careful aim on and advancing target... chances are... you won't know your a target until the thug is on you... and you may need to actually claw, hit, and bite your way into enough clear space to reach your weapon.

The strongest part of your body is your legs and hips so if your able to maneuver at all... it will be angle your strong side hip away from the goblin to clear and draw your weapon.

IWB with a somewhat loose top will hide your firearm but you will need to make some clothing decisions if your serious about seeing to your own security.

Your pic looks alot like my 17 year old daughter so I truly hope you take all of this to heart and put your safety above fasion.

Good Luck and be safe.

Tack