Trainer accreditation?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Trainer accreditation?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-29-2010, 09:41 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts

Default Trainer accreditation?

I'm just an old farm boy, former big game guide, now a plumber. I've been shooting for about 45 years and can generally put the bullet fairly close to where I want it to go.
I feel that some training in self defense shooting would be a beneficial thing. But I frankly can't afford to take a week off and spend the $3 grand to go someplace like Gunsite or Thunder Ranch. Finding someone local (Alaska) who would do weekend courses would be ideal, but how to find a competent instructor without spending the time and money to discover they're not? The Lovely Mrs Freefall took a women only course about a year ago and the guy sounded like quite the mall ninja. Busy thumping his chest and telling nauseating stories.
Anyways. Is there some organization that rates various schools, instructors? Seems like something the NRA or the USCCA would be well behooved to be involved in. Of course, with the NRA it would probably quickly turn into a "pay to play" situation. Maybe we should have a thread where people rate their experiences at various schools. Eh?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-29-2010, 10:01 PM   #2

Location: I see you, and you will not know when I will strike
Liked 3479 Times on 1609 Posts
Likes Given: 3590