Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Tips for a beginner?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-13-2010, 04:48 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Tips for a beginner?

I am a surgical resident living in Los Angeles and I'd like to take up shooting as a hobby to relax and to train my hands and breathing to be more steady for surgery. Being able to use the weapon for self-defense would be nice, since I live in a bad area in LA, but I am pretty careful so I doubt I will be carrying it much. I doubt I will do much hunting either but it could be interesting. Most importantly, I am still paying off my loans so I don't have that much extra money to throw around though. I just have a few questions to try to get myself started though:

1) How much will it cost? For the gun, trainings, and license fees.

2) Should I start with a handgun or a rifle? Which ones do you think would be best?

3) What trainings should I get? And (for people in Southern CA) where should I take them?

Thanks!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-13-2010, 09:17 AM   #2

Liked 5 Times on 2 Posts

Default Good luck with that!

I fled cali in 1990 after the eco-nazis took over the fish & game dept!

Old 11-24-2010, 11:58 AM   #3

I am sort of in the same boat as you....getting back in the shooting sport after a long break (30 years).