Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Stupid things in our youth

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2014, 10:27 PM   #71
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default My mothers dairy goats.

It was springtime tech school was out and my summer job as a hired hayfield hand started in a week, Mom had just planted some greenhouse started type flowers from some garden center, i found that her dairy goats were making a game of getting out of their pasture, they'd come to the flower patch and eat moms flowers, we'd been chasing them back and kept plugging holes the goats slipped through.
Id started throwing rocks at the goats, im a lousy thrower or rocks and the gravel in the drive was limited to smaller than grape size wash gravel, so id taken to using my old daisy red rider but my range was limited, then I found goats standing on my well cared for 1977 chevy montie carlo and i started shooting dairy goats with my crossman 760 pump master.
the goats started to developed large welts soon after.
I hadnt sat idle using any excuse to pop moms goats, id spent the better part of 2 days fixing up a new area the goats could graze with taller fences.
at chores while milking goats id noticed the welts had gone to the size of golf balls, id sliced one the goiters open to drain and squeezed out a greenish putty like infection with a rusty BB at its core.
that brought a end to shooting loose dairy goats with any sort of pellet or BB gun.
Shortly before moving the goats to the new diggs they gave my car another scuffing all over hood n trunk, so
Tried some old firecrackers id had stored in the garage
problem was i couldnt light and throw them far
then set on using bottle rockets but they were inaccurate, so i