SGT-MILLER Training Thread #1: Defensive Mindset

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > SGT-MILLER Training Thread #1: Defensive Mindset

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2009, 02:54 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default SGT-MILLER Training Thread #1: Defensive Mindset

This will be the first of many threads that will (I hope) help the forum viewers with the myriad of issues and myths that are associated with the world of firearm self-defense. Please feel free to add any thoughts. I am by no means a master of anything. I am still learning every day, but I still feel that I have a responsibility to share my meager 21 years of total firearm experience with you all in the hopes of helping someone that may need it.

To start, being a responsible defender requires more than purchasing a firearm and getting a piece of paper from the Sheriff stating that you are allowed to carry the firearm. You must maintain the proper mindset at all times. An important first thought to remember is you must conform your lifestyle around the firearm 100% of the time. To help you with this, here is a simple mental thought that I use.

"I am a human being no matter what, and I have a responsibility to act as such at all times."

Have I lost any of you yet? Some of you may be wondering what that has to do with putting a few rounds center of mass into a scumbag. I'll tell you.