Question about target and training at the range
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Question about target and training at the range

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-24-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 9 Times on 4 Posts

Default Question about target and training at the range

Hi all. Kind of a novice here. At the range most of the people have their targets at 10 yards, so I've been doing the same with the M9A1. Seems kind of close to me, but I didn't want to be overly ambitious. What kind of yardage should I be able to reliably hit to consider myself 'doing ok'?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-24-2012, 09:09 PM   #2
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 1361 Times on 691 Posts
Likes Given: 1015

Nothing wrong with cutting your teeth at 10 yrds when you consider that most real gunfights in the civilian world are that close or closer. You can work your way out to 30 yrds for target practice with the 9, but the object should be the mechanics, i.e. engaging, changing mags, your speed of target acquisition and your overall level of competence. I can take a pistol out to 70 yards, rest the butt, adjust for drop and hit the target...but it's just for fun. Once you feel adept, increase your range. My belief is any time you're shooting live ammo it's good experience...and it only adds to your learning curve when you experiment.

Old 09-27-2012, 07:44 AM   #3

Liked 9 Times on 4 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by 7point62