Prospective first time gun owner
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Prospective first time gun owner

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2009, 02:06 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Prospective first time gun owner

Well, all you crazy gun nuts must be rubbing off on me because I have decided to take the plunge and purchase my first gun.

Actually, I have been considering it for a couple years, but I never felt like I knew enough to proceed. Having the support of this forum has given me the feeling that I can pull it off. So I hope you don't mind if I ask some questions. I searched the forums, but could not find exactly the info I was looking for.

It will be a 12 gauge shot gun. I am getting it primarily for home defense purposes.

I checked and Kentucky has fairly liberal gun laws. I will not need to register or license my gun. It seems that I am allowed to buy it from just about anyone as well.

I want to get training for safe handling and proper use, as well as care & feeding of my new friend. I have never owned a gun before and have no idea how to care for one, other than the vague notion that I will need to clean it and oil it at some point. I have no idea what sort of training would be appropriate or where to get it.

That's the first three questions:

#1. Where do I get training from?
#2. What sort of training should I get for a shotgun?
#3. How do I care for a shotgun? (Or will that be covered in a typical training class?)

I told my wife that I had decided to get one and she was right behind me. We have agreed that we will both get regular training and practice with it...just in case we need it.

Some other questions:
#4. Where is a place to buy a shotgun? Wal-Mart? Online? A gunstore? Why?
#5. Do I want a pump action or semi-auto? Why?
#6. What about a used shotgun? (This scares me a little because I wont know what I am looking at.)