Proper Sight Picture And Target Mistakes! - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Proper Sight Picture And Target Mistakes!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2008, 10:17 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

OK! Think, 'Ball & Dummy Drill'.

Add a few snap caps to the live ammo mix. When you drop the hammer on the snap cap you should quickly see what you're doing wrong. Other than this: Remember what I said about, first, controlling the backstap BEFORE you attempt to concentrate on the front sight.

I've been training young and old to shoot for many years. I'll tell you for a fact: Most people don't really have a problem with watching the front sight. They will - and do - watch the front sight. Instead, they have a larger problem with their grip, and with controlling the pistol's backstrap.

(Pulling a pistol's trigger correctly isn't that tough to learn!)

10 or 15 minutes practice, twice a day, with snap caps can work wonders for your pistol shooting skills. Even after a lifetime of pistol shooting I still begin each range session with a magazine full of snap caps whenever I can. (Clears the mind and connects the brain with the hand!)

Old 08-14-2008, 01:08 AM   #12

Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger_sxt View Post
You should really watch James Yeager's Shooting Missology.

+100

That video is the best training tool I have ever seen!

However please note that I have trained with James Yeager and he is a fantastic instructor!

I also have some concerns about the pictures posted in the OP.....

PM me if you have questions. I am not bashing or thread hijacking.

Tom Perroni

Old 08-14-2008, 02:49 AM   #13

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCJS Instructor View Post
.... I also have some concerns about the pictures posted in the OP.....

PM me if you have questions. I am not bashing or thread hijacking.

Tom Perroni