Operators? - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Operators?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2012, 01:17 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 9205 Times on 5058 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Quote:
Originally Posted by spittinfire

Anyone who refers to themselves as an operator is just a d bag. That would be like Marlyn saying, "yep, I'm a sex symbol." She just went from sexy to b!$ch in a heartbeat.
That's pretty much how I feel on the matter. Most who have been there and done that don't try to glorify it.

Old 11-12-2012, 01:10 AM   #12

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Although... I am a veteran 02-06, and I see what has happened now is you have non-combat people who know the lingo telling lies... They know the MOS, Camp names etc. But they will never go as far as knowing units. I'm referring to Air Force types mostly who want to cash in on infantry credit. How do I know? Cuz I've caught Air Force dudes lying and I was in the AF lol... We call ours AFSC's same as MOS for Marines/Army...

In god we trust, all others we monitor...

People Like This 
Old 11-13-2012, 05:15 PM   #13
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1151 Times on 751 Posts
Likes Given: 690

Quote:
Originally Posted by trip286 View Post
Quite welcome. One way to tell a bull spitter from the real deal, simply ask "what was your MOS?". If they say anything other than rattling off a number (or number letter combo), they are trying to bull spit you most likely. I often hear, "oh you know, I was a trigger puller." Me: "oh? What weapon were you issued?" Poser: "uh, it was like the M16 but smaller, full auto, and had a long strip thingy of boolits. In 9 millimeter ought 38-40" or some similar crap.

Ask an MOS, and most REAL vets will think you know what's up. You can then ask, "oh, what does eleven-bravo/ohthreeeleven/ohthreefortyone mean?" And you'll get a more detailed explanation.