Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Obtaining a CCW

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-02-2008, 04:53 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Obtaining a CCW

I am sure a majority of you on here have a carry permit. I plan on getting one this summer when the classes start back up. I would like to know what the class is like. What sort of information does the instructor go over and how much actual shooting do you do? What happens in the case when you don't have a gun? I know, why take the class if you don't a gun, but I'm soure it's been done. Are the instructors usually pretty laid back or is it a real serious type class? I'm a college grad and proficient at test taking, but what are the tests like and are they quite hard?

Proud NRA member

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-02-2008, 05:16 PM   #2

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Good for you, glad to hear that you are taking the CCW step. To answer your questions, the test is so easy it isn't funny. It is a liability drill on the part of the states. It will be all "when and where and how" you can carry or use your firearm. You will have all the answers by the end of the instruction.
Yes, it is serious. Take it seriously.