Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Training & Safety (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f55/)
-   -   Obtaining a CCW (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f55/obtaining-ccw-2899/)

MarkoPo 01-02-2008 04:53 PM

Obtaining a CCW

I am sure a majority of you on here have a carry permit. I plan on getting one this summer when the classes start back up. I would like to know what the class is like. What sort of information does the instructor go over and how much actual shooting do you do? What happens in the case when you don't have a gun? I know, why take the class if you don't a gun, but I'm soure it's been done. Are the instructors usually pretty laid back or is it a real serious type class? I'm a college grad and proficient at test taking, but what are the tests like and are they quite hard?

hillbilly68 01-02-2008 05:16 PM

Good for you, glad to hear that you are taking the CCW step. To answer your questions, the test is so easy it isn't funny. It is a liability drill on the part of the states. It will be all "when and where and how" you can carry or use your firearm. You will have all the answers by the end of the instruction.
Yes, it is serious. Take it seriously.
Not much shooting, pretty simplistic. You will have to have a firearm and ammo to take the class. Doesn't have to be your own, you can borrow. The range that you take it at might have rentals and you can buy the ammo there, depends on the state. Not sure of MI, most states don't make you "declare" which gun you will carry (I have one that did require you to state which gun(s) you would CCW and if you had a revolver, you had to "qualify" with a revolver. If that is the case I recommend that you do both (pistol and revolver). Again, I am not sure of your state's requirement.