Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Training & Safety (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f55/)
-   -   Need advice, possibly converting to a lefty (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f55/need-advice-possibly-converting-lefty-53681/)

sputnik1988 12-16-2011 04:45 AM

Need advice, possibly converting to a lefty

I've been shooting for several years now but just started shooting more frequently and have noticed that shooting left handed seems a bit more natural, although still a little weird. I am left eye dominate, so I was curious if this is why. I am right handed and have always been.
My question is, would it be better to pursue training as a lefty if I won't shoot everything that way? I obviously wouldn't use bolt actions left handed. I don't want to confuse my brain by using both unless it would improve my abilities with both and I could switch with ease.

Any input is greatly appreciated

winds-of-change 12-16-2011 04:48 AM

The guy who got me interested in guns shoots rifles lefty and handguns righty. He is a right handed person. I believe it is because he is left eye dominant.

kfox75 12-16-2011 07:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sputnik1988 (Post 653290)
I've been shooting for several years now but just started shooting more frequently and have noticed that shooting left handed seems a bit more natural, although still a little weird. I am left eye dominate, so I was curious if this is why. I am right handed and have always been.
My question is, would it be better to pursue training as a lefty if I won't shoot everything that way? I obviously wouldn't use bolt actions left handed. I don't want to confuse my brain by using both unless it would improve my abilities with both and I could switch with ease.

Any input is greatly appreciated