Firearm beginner. I have some questions.
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Firearm beginner. I have some questions.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2009, 11:57 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Firearm beginner. I have some questions.

I took a look around the forum to figure out where I would even put this topic, and I wasn't exactly positive, so if I messed up, I apologize.

Well, I'm new to firearms. My father and mother both didn't approve of them, so I never grew up around them. I recently enlisted into the US Navy, and that's when I decided I'd want to learn about firearms.

I don't know a thing though, I have a few ideas here and there, but I'm not positive on anything.

So, what I was wondering was, if someone could help me out and give me some info on the following:
Bullet Size - What is caliber and mm?
What is a cartridge made of? - What is the physics of the bullet actually going off, what happens with the firing rod strikes the primer?
What kind of gun should I get? Where can I use it?
What is gas operated?
How does a typical weapon actually work? - The mechanics of it.
Any more information anyone else can throw at me would be nice, when I get done with RTC and get my orders from my detailer, I'm joining the NRA.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-20-2009, 12:34 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1175 Times on 510 Posts
Likes Given: 2978