Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Eye glasses, safety glasses. and hearing protection

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2009, 10:43 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Eye glasses, safety glasses. and hearing protection

I am new at FireArms Talk, and this is my first post. I am new to guns. I wear eye glasses and am looking for eye and hearing protection while firing a pistol. Should I be using wrap around safety glasses, or would eye glasses be enough protection? If more protection is needed, are wrap around safety glasses available that fit over eye glasses? And would I better off with ear plugs since the frames might break the ear muff seal? I admit my ignorance and that I've asked a lot of questions. But I want to be sure that I do things right. Thanks.

Last edited by twitcheyfinger; 05-24-2009 at 12:06 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 05-23-2009, 11:04 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts

You should be looking for something with an ANSI rating of Z87.1 for the glasses. Your prescription lenses or sunglasses should be sufficient as long as they carry that "safety" rating.

As far as ears go, I've always preferred muffs, as they're quick and easy to get on and off. All muffs, even the cheapest, will conform to the proper ANSI rating.

If you prefer plugs, look at the "NRR" rating on the container and buy the highest that you can find. They're cheap, so buy a few different kinds and see what fits you best and feels most comfortable.