Defensive shooting classes/training - Page 3
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > Defensive shooting classes/training

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2011, 10:05 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreedomFighter69 View Post
If you have Ten Years of firearms experience then you're more than qualified !
NO, NO, NO! Just because someone has handled a firearm for however many years doesn't "qualify" them to handle a real life threat. I've been driving longer than some of those boys in NASCAR have been alive but that doesn't "qualify" me to drive a race car.

I see this mentality in the fire service. "I've been doing this job for 20 years & I don't need to train on that". I know a gentleman on a smaller department; he worked his way up through the ranks & made Asst. Chief. He was responsible for the fire fighting activities his department did at emergencies. He was responsible for the safety of not only his personnel but those of other departments that might come to assist. The kicker is, HE HAD NEVER BEEN IN A BURNING STRUCTURE! He had absolutely no experience as to what it was like to be in a situation where you can't see, don't know where you are, & to be in a situation that can kill you.

I agree with the thought behind this whole thread. There needs to be more training, more affordable training offered to those who carry. I think that everyone who carries should be required to take a defensive type class every year. I think more than once a year is needed but once a year is a start. One can spend hours at the range & practice this move & that move but without some kind of pressure on you, you're not going to get real life experience.

Teach a child to shoot, it may save a life someday!

Old 02-04-2011, 12:37 PM   #22

Liked 4 Times on 1 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrJason View Post