COMBAT: Stance
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > COMBAT: Stance

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2007, 04:50 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 10 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 32

Default COMBAT: Stance

I’m curious what stance other members here prefer. Although I have my own opinion founded in experience, study and experimentation, I’m always open for learning. I'm an instructor, but before that I'm a student. I teach when I have a student, but I myself am always a student. Firm in my belief of proven principals, but always with an open mind, ears and eyes!
20 years ago the Weaver stance was the professionals choice and more recently it appears the Isosceles stance is most popular. However both of these most likely are more in reference to the manor in which we handle the gun.

The Weaver stance advocates a body posture utilizing angles to manipulate muscles against muscle in an attempt to create isometric pressure to capture the gun providing better recoil control and overall sighting and firing control.

The Isosceles stance is a more natural and relaxed position offering quicker target acquisition and more rapid student skills progression.

Of course there is more to each position than a simple paragraph and I would imagine there are 50-100 different other stances based on these two. Each of these and most all of the variations I have studied are really designed to provide a solid platform for the upper body to more effectively address the target. A good goal grounded (no pun intended) in the logic that a steady hold provides more accuracy. I can’t argue with that.

But I am more interested in the stance itself, as in the feet and legs, not necessarily the rest of the anatomy puzzle, but how to you stand and why. What foot placement do you use and how does this benefit your fighting style in combat?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!