best rifle for a newbie?
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Training & Safety > best rifle for a newbie?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2012, 04:25 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default best rifle for a newbie?

Hello all,
I grew up in a hunting/shooting family, but I only recently got interested in shooting on my own. I have a BB/pellet gun, but I'm ready to buy a "real" gun. I have a friend and my family to get advice from, but this forum was suggested as a good place to learn by the people over at the preparedsociety.com forum so I thought I'd ask here, too.

Any suggestions? I'm thinking a .22, but as I said, I'm a newbie to this. I have to say, though, I'm hooked. Plinking is strangely relaxing and pretty addictive, too.

Thanks in advance!

emily

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-05-2012, 12:22 AM   #2
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 3465 Times on 1675 Posts
Likes Given: 1742

emily,

I would suggest a Ruger 10-22 if you are looking for a good quality semi auto 22 cal rifle that has a reputation for being one of the best. They are not all that expensive either. And later if you ever want to add accessories onto it to make it look cooler there are a lot of accessories out there. I purchased three for my grandsons three years ago for Christmas. I think you would be very happy with one! I do not know where you live but you but most stores have them in stock.