Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Engraving & Refinishing (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f54/)
-   -   how to do a stainless finish (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f54/how-do-stainless-finish-88271/)

urquidez 04-06-2013 02:31 AM

how to do a stainless finish

How can i put a stainless steel finish on my firearm? Do i just remove finish and polish the heck out of it or would i have to do other stuff to it? Ty for info in advance !!!I AM A NOOB AT THIS!!! Ty

towboater 04-06-2013 02:38 AM

Is it stainless under the finish? If not ya cant make it stainless.

Axxe55 04-06-2013 02:42 AM

the only way to make a stainless finish if it's not stainless to begin with is to do some type of coating that looks like stainless. Duracoat IIRC has a color that looks like stainless.

but Towboater is correct. stainless is a type of metal not a finish.

urquidez 04-06-2013 02:46 AM

O ok i dont know if its stainless i have a beat up ria 1911

Axxe55 04-06-2013 02:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urquidez (Post 1204773)
O ok i dont know if its stainless i have a beat up ria 1911

not for sure, but i don't think RIA did any in stainless. maybe nickel plated?

please post some pictures if possible. ae you trying to get a stainless looking finish? just trying to determine what you are trying to achieve.

urquidez 04-06-2013 02:53 AM

I was looking at maybe a matte nickel finish if stainless steel is no y possible

Axxe55 04-06-2013 02:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urquidez (Post 1204784)
I was looking at maybe a matte nickel finish if stainless steel is no y possible

first we need to determine what type of finish or material it is made of to be able to determine what process to use to achieve the result you are after.

c3shooter 04-06-2013 03:03 AM