Is the gunsmith full of it???
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Engraving & Refinishing > Is the gunsmith full of it???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-14-2009, 01:07 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Is the gunsmith full of it???

I have a S&W Sigma .40 . i am fairly new to handguns and i was wondering since the slide on my sigma is stainless steel , even though it is a matte finish , could it be sanded and polished out to a nice shine. So i called 2 local gun stores and fords custom gun refinishing in FL got a few different answers. The first place i called the gunsmith wasnt in but the guy i talked to said he has never seen one done but he wouldnt see why you couldnt. The second guy talked to said that it could be done he told me to call back and talk to the gunsmith a little later to see if it was something they could do there or not. So abouth an hour later i called back and he basically told me he couldnt understand why i would want to do that and he said that it cant be done. He went on to say that if anyone said that they could do it they would be full of it and if i did have it done it would mess up the gun. So i then asked him if having it plated would be a better option . He again said it would " change the dynamics of the gun and mess it up". He even went as far as to say the he could understand me want to do it if i was a " different color " . After making that remark I said thank you for your time and goodbye. I then called fords custom gun refinishing and talked to them and they said they could do it and it would run about $100. So my question is the gunsmith i talked to full of it? When I talked to him he kind of seem like a jacka** but who knows. I just wanted to ask what you guys thought and if anyones knows 100% if it can be done or not. Thanks

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!