Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Engraving & Refinishing > general question old gun refinish

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2013, 02:09 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default general question old gun refinish

Hey folks!
First off - I did a little searching but I have a slow connection speed and got frustrated... si I cheated and posted anyway. Sorry for breaching "forum ettiquite".
I'm new to gun collecting but as an ARMY vet, I've been a gun nut a while.
I picked up a '71 (I bleeve) Rem 742. It's good but needs a little love.
She's got some rust dots but not pitted deeply and some bluing rubbed off in a spot or two. I got some Duracoat (black oxide) on the way.
I am situationally ignorant but more capable than your average "handy".
How do I address the rust dots (don't know what else to call them) and achieve a smooth painable surface on the metal before painting?
I build and finish all sorts of things, from guitars to furniture, to a little auto-body, but don't know how to prep this metal to smooth the dots but not fill in the branding / serial numbers etc.
Never worked on bare metal without a filling primer.
Any help or suggestions would be great.
Thank you!
Rev. Toid

No. Not even in the face of Armageddon. Never compromise. - Rorshach The Watchmen

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 02-06-2013, 03:03 AM   #2

Liked 696 Times on 447 Posts
Likes Given: 224