Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gunsmithing & Do-It-Yourself Projects > Engraving & Refinishing > Engraving pattern question?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2011, 03:05 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Engraving pattern question?

Good Morning All
I am new to discussions in this forum and I don’t usually reply to a lot of posts because I don’t feel I can offer any better information than others here that have a lot more experience than I do. I will if I find one that I feel knowledgeable in and can help someone. I do very much appreciate the shared information that others are taking the time to give. I have had a FFL for 26 years; I am a very good machinist and enjoy building custom bench rifles and other types of custom creations not necessarily conventional. I have always appreciated the look of engraving on firearms and have wanted to learn engraving for a long time. I have read some books, bought some hand tools and purchased a GraverMeister and tooling.
Finally for my engraving question: First I would like to say I mean no disrespect to the engraving masters out there that have put in 20 to 30 years learning this craft, I just don’t feel I have the time to learn both the artistry and technique. Is there any type of a transfer system or technique that will allow me to create my designs or patterns from clip art or other mediums on my computer and apply them to the work surface to follow?
Thanks
Bill

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-16-2011, 01:58 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 27 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 4