Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Engraving & Refinishing (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f54/)
-   -   Antiqued Finish (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f54/antiqued-finish-97151/)

starving030 09-16-2013 08:30 PM

Antiqued Finish

1 Attachment(s)
Just curious how I could finish a gun to make it look older antique but not abused and rusty. More of a silver/grey look than blue. Kinda like this one. Thanks

NC1760 09-16-2013 08:44 PM

Mock "Antique" finish

I have done reenacting (F&I, Rev and some Civil era)... So I have some knowledge on this... but these guys at Brownell's say it better than I can;
http://www.brownells.com/.aspx/lid=10822/guntechdetail/href=
BTW.... nice looking shooter there!!

TruggieTex 09-16-2013 08:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by starving030
Just curious how I could finish a gun to make it look older antique but not abused and rusty. More of a silver/grey look than blue. Kinda like this one. Thanks

If it is a shotgun, and you can get it to me quickly, I will use it hard for the rest of dove season.....;)

Seriously, though....a green scrubbie or softer white one should 'age' the bluing on edges and touch points generally found on seasoned weapons. The wood furniture can be removed and conditioned with any steel wool, light sandpaper, big grit emory cloth....depends on how antiqued you want.
I usually work firearms in the other direction-reversing age :)

starving030 09-16-2013 11:48 PM

Thanks. That shotgun is not what I'm going to work on. it actually is old already. Will keep it original. It's a Marlin 1898. To dangerous to, to cool to get rid of.

But, I have a 1911 that is polished blue I want to do this to just for fun. Just to be different than most others I guess. I got a super deal so it doesn't bother me to redo the finish completely if it doesn't turn out.

starving030 09-17-2013 12:22 AM