teaching

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Discussion Forums > Survival & Sustenance Living Forum > teaching

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-07-2012, 08:05 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 184 Times on 134 Posts
Likes Given: 185

Default teaching

I'm teaching a trapping class at the beginning of next month to boy scouts. Ages 12-16 I have to cover types of traps, terrain, types of animals, bait, how to kill the animal, how to clean it and safety not in that order.

The biggest issue I have with teaching this class is I have to teach them how to kill the animal and how to clean it. This is my first time teaching this to really any one I've been doing it now for a couple of years but I don't really know how to go about teaching the kill. I had an idea for bringing a cage rabbit and just showing them rather then just talking about it but I don't know.

You have any ideas anything I might of missed or just pointers, or anything helpful? I'm only really teaching three types of traps, dead fall, snare, and live trap. The biggest part of safety is making sure this ain't nam and they ain't ranbow so no human traps.

this is just going to be a basic course...

"come on you sons of b***hs! do you want to live forever?" Sergeant Daniel Daly, USMC, Belleau Wood France June 6th 1918

"You can be as mad as a mad dog at the way things went. You could swear, curse the fates, but when it comes to the end, you have to let go" Benjamin Button

BE PREPARED

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-07-2012, 12:40 PM   #2

Liked 1414 Times on 844 Posts
Likes Given: 146